Tags

,

What Is Your ‘One Thing’?

“This one thing I do…” – St. Paul.

“One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek:..”- King David.

“The man who seeks one thing in life, and but one, May hope to achieve it before life be done; But he who seeks all things, wherever he goes, Only reaps from the hopes which around him he sows, A harvest of barren regrets”. – Owen Meredith.

I have discovered that, the difference between those who succeed and those who fail is not in the amount of work they each do, but in the amount of intelligent work. Many of us who do not achieve much, do enough to achieve grand success; but we labour at haphazard, building up with one hand only to tear down with the other. We do not grasp circumstances and change them into opportunities.

Focus folks, is the name of the game in life. Napoleon Hill calls it ‘definite chief aim’. What is your ‘One thing’? What is your aim and purpose in life? Surprisingly, some of us who desire success don’t know what we really want. We can’t define it in words. Instead we give answers like: “I hardly know yet what I am best suited for, but I am a firm believer in hard work, and I am determined to dig early and late all my life, and I know I shall come across something–either gold, silver, or at least iron.” The Bible tells us; “Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.” – Matthew 7:7, “And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart. …” – Jeremiah 29:13. But the man who is forever looking about to see what he can find never finds anything. If we look for nothing in particular, we find just that and no more. We find what we seek with all our heart. “The bee is not the only insect that visits the flower, but it is the only one that carries honey away”.

